Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Second public meeting for Maries County hazard mitigation plan April 11

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Patrick Stites or Caitlin Jones

MARIES COUNTY—Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) to hold the second meeting of the Maries County hazard mitigation planning committee at 1:00 p.m. on April 11, 2023, at the Vienna Fire Protection District training room, 308 N Mill St., Vienna, MO, to update the county’s hazard mitigation plan. The meeting is open to the public. 

During the first meeting of the Maries County hazard mitigation planning committee, MRPC provided an overview of hazard mitigation planning, discussed grant programs requiring an approved hazard mitigation plan and discussed the steps required to update the plan. Representatives from Maries County, Phelps Health, the Missouri State Highway Patrol, the Phelps/Maries County Health Department, Maries Osage Ambulance District, Vienna Fire Protection District, SEMA and the public provided input on the types of natural hazards prevalent in the planning area as well as the types of projects that have been completed in the last five years to help lessen the impact of those hazards.

Hazard mitigation planning is focused on reducing risk before disasters strike. Activities such as burying electric lines, reduces damage during tornadoes and elevating homes in the floodplain help reduce damage and loss of life during natural disasters. Public input is necessary to truly understand the risks that could be facing the county. Residents of Maries County can participate in the update process by visiting  https://www.meramecregion.org/surveys/ and completing our public survey.

County-level hazard mitigation plans cover a five-year timeframe. Maries County’s last plan was approved in May 2019 and can be found at https://www.meramecregion.org/publications/. The first draft of the revised plan must be submitted to SEMA by March 5, 2024. 

If you have questions, please contact Patrick Stites at MRPC at 573-265-2993 or by email at pstites@meramecregion.org.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Steve Vogt, representing the city of Belle, serves as MRPC chairman. A professional staff of 33, led by Executive Director Bonnie Prigge, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.