Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Phelps County PHA elects new officers

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Donald Keeney or Caitlin Jones

ST. JAMES—The Phelps County Public Housing Agency (PHA) elected new officers for fiscal year 2020-2021. Maries County Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman will serve as chairman, while Crawford County Presiding Commissioner Leo Sanders will serve as vice chairman, and Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel will be secretary. 

Phelps County PHA is an equal opportunity housing agency that offers HUD’s housing choice voucher rental assistance to very low-income families in Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps (outside the city of Rolla) and Washington counties. Osage and Pulaski counties, also a part of the Meramec Region, are served by other housing agencies. 

The PHA also offers the Family Self-Sufficiency Program where clients develop a goal-oriented, five-year plan that moves them toward self-sufficiency and independence from government programs. The PHA serves about 740 families each month; about 80 of those participate in the FSS program.

The Phelps County PHA board consists of presiding commissioners and one resident advisory board member. The PHA contracts with the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) to operate and staff the program. The PHA is located at 4 Industrial Drive, St. James, the same building as MRPC. For persons needing housing assistance, they can now apply online at phelpsco.housingmanager.com. Due to COVID-19, the PHA is open by appointment only. For more information, call 573-265-4200 or visit the Phelps County PHA webpage at www.meramecregion.org/mrpc-programs-and-services/phelps-county-pha/