Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC elects new slate of officers

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge

ST. JAMES—Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) elected a new slate of officers at its May 10 board meeting. For the 2018-2019 year, Washington County Presiding Commissioner Marvin Wright was elected chairman. Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel was elected vice-chairman; Belle representative Steve Vogt was elected secretary, and St. Robert Mayor George Lauritson was elected treasurer. Wright, previously vice chairman, replaces Ray Schwartze, Maries County presiding commissioner, who had served two consecutive terms as chairman. New officers assume their duties with the June 14 meeting.

The board also approved the renewal of at-large representatives whose terms were expiring including Gary Brown, Dent County for profit; Ron Kraettli, Gasconade County for profit; Bob Parsons, Ag Business; and John Casey, transportation. Kyle Hofstetter was newly appointed as Crawford County’s for profit representative.

A slate of officers were presented for Meramec Regional Board (MRB Corp.) with Crawford County Presiding Commissioner Leo Sanders remaining as chairman, Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darrell Skiles remaining as vice-chairman and Larry Miskel remaining as secretary/treasurer. This slate will be voted on at the next MRB meeting in June.

In other business, the board:

  • Approved the location for the 2018 Annual Dinner and Awards Banquet as Hermann Hill Wedding and Conference Center in Hermann, Mo.;
  • Approved a letter be sent to the Office of Homeland Security indicating the board’s concerns with the voting process on Homeland Security grants for the region;
  • Heard an update on membership dues and is seeking input from members on the board committee’s recommendation; and
  • Heard an announcement that Delta Regional Authority’s SEDAP grant cycle is open through June 30 for the region’s four Delta Regional Authority counties – Crawford, Dent, Phelps and Washington.

The next MRPC board meeting will be held on June 14 at #4 Industrial Drive, St. James.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 23, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.