Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC board learns of possibilities through East Central College

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge

ST. JAMES—East Central College (ECC) has an abundance to offer the region with a satellite campus located in Rolla, programs offered through Rolla Technical Institute, and programs offered in high schools throughout the region. Dr. Jon Bauer spoke with the Meramec Regional Planning Commission’s (MRPC) board of directors about the opportunities the college can provide area students and its strategic plan for expansion at the Dec. 12 meeting. 

The college offers five associate degree opportunities and a bridge program where students can complete the two years at ECC and then transfer to another university. Additionally, the college offers dual credit classes through the area high schools. The ECC Center for Workforce Development works to establish, develop and promote workforce training opportunities with area business and manufacturers.  Dr. Bauer spoke about these opportunities for industry training and consulting, workforce training certifications in Leadership, IT, Microsoft, precision machining, welding and others. Through this initiative, ECC also works to make apprenticeships available in more than 1,300 occupations. 

As of the 2019 fall semester, ECC had 761 students enrolled from the counties that comprise the MRPC service area.

In other business, the MRPC board: 

  • Finalized the list of legislative priorities that will be presented to the state legislators in January when the MRPC board and staff visit the state capitol;
  • Heard an update from the Transportation Advisory Committee on the region’s prioritization of area projects. See additional press release; and
  • Approved a new job description for a Community Development Assistant.

The next meeting will be Jan. 9, 2020. State legislators have been invited to discuss the top legislative priorities affecting the cities and counties in our region, as determined by the MRPC board. 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 27 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.