Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC Annual Dinner planned Oct. 24 in Waynesville

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Tammy Snodgrass

ST. JAMES—Each year Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) honors residents of the Meramec Region who give to their communities by volunteering their time, talents and support. This year, 13 awards will be presented at MRPC’s 2019 Annual Dinner Oct. 24 at the Stonebrooke Center at 500 G.W. Lane St., Waynesville.  

Individuals being recognized by MRPC for contributions to their communities are:

  • Judy Apperson of Salem, nominated by Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darrell Skiles;
  • Jan and Terry Primas of Waynesville, nominated by Waynesville Mayor Luge Hardman;
  • Karlee Hallahan of Vienna, nominated by MRPC board member Ray Schwartze;
  • Dr. Donald “Doc” Broman of Linn, nominated by MRPC board member Dr. Don Claycomb;
  • Shane Jones of Belle, nominated by MRPC board member Steve Vogt;
  • Joey Butler Sr. of Belle, nominated by MRPC board member Steve Vogt;
  • Faye Howard of Cuba, nominated by Crawford County Presiding Commissioner Leo Sanders;
  • Julia Semsick of Crocker, nominated by Crocker Mayor Glen Smith; 
  • Patricia Heaney of Hermann, nominated by Hermann Mayor Dr. Robert Koerber;
  • Cindy Butler of Belle, nominated by Maries County Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman;  
  • William S. Jenks III of Rolla, nominated by MRPC board member John Butz; and 
  • E. Louise Baker of Owensville, nominated by Owensville Mayor John Kamler. 

The public is invited to attend the event in Waynesville. Tickets for the event will cost $30. For reservations, contact MRPC at 573-265-2993. The deadline for reservations is Oct. 15. A reception will be held prior to the dinner beginning at 5:30 p.m. Dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. with a program and awards presentation following.  Lt. Gov. Mike Kehoe will be the featured speaker for the evening.

The Eugene E. Northern award, the highest honor given by MRPC for volunteers and community service, will also be announced at the annual dinner. The award recipient is kept secret until announced at the Annual Dinner. 

This year marks MRPC’s 50th year of service.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 25 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.orgor on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.