Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

TAC decides regional transportation priorities Highways 63 and 50 remain at top of list

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Connie Willman or Lyle Thomas at (573) 265-2993

The Meramec Region’s Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) decided the expansions of Highways 63 and 50 to four-lane corridors remain the number one and two regional transportation priorities, respectively, at its December meeting.

Also prioritized by the TAC was a list of 24 additional transportation projects throughout the region, three potential scoping projects and the regional applications for Missouri Department of Transportation’s (MoDOT) new Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP).

The initial list of 24 additional projects was created as the representatives of each county presented that county’s top three priorities. Those projects where then prioritized through a weighted voting system by all TAC members.

The TAC’s top 10 priorities after highways 63 and 50 are:

1. Replacement of bridge over Crooked Creek on Route TT in Dent County;
2. Replacement of bridge over Crooked Creek on Highway 19 in Crawford County;
3. Safety improvements at the “Y” intersection of Highway 63 and Highway 28 in Maries County;
4. Safety improvements to the guardrail on “Gasconade River Hill” on Highway 28 in Pulaski County;
5. Extending Highway 72 to Interstate 44 at a proposed 5th Rolla interchange in Phelps County;
6. Replacement of bridge over Fouche A Renault on Highway 185 in Washington County;
7. Adding a third lane to Highway 19 from the intersection of highways 19 and 28 to the northern city limits of Owensville in Gasconade County;
8. Replacement of bridge over the Little Bourbouse Rover on Route C in Crawford County;
9. Safety improvements to the intersection of highways 63 and 133 in Osage County; and
10. Traffic control improvements on Highway 68 from Route KK to the southern city limits of St. James in Phelps County.

The prioritized list has been sent to MoDOT for consideration in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Plan (STIP), which is prepared annually and sets forth specific construction projects MoDOT will undertake in the next five years. It covers all modes of transportation.

“We do hope, and have some indications, that there will be some projects added to the STIP,” said MRPC Executive Director Bonnie Prigge.

No new projects were added in 2014.

The TAC also prioritized potential MoDOT scoping projects in the region. Scoping includes the environmental study and location study portion of a project to be used for future planning. Of the three scoping projects presented, the TAC voted scoping of Interstate 44 improvements as the highest priority followed by improvements to Highway 8 from Highway 67 to Interstate 44 and Highway 21 from Potosi to Desoto respectively.

During the December meeting, the TAC also prioritized local applications for MoDOT’s new Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP).

Five Meramec Region communities—Hermann, Potosi, Rolla, Vienna and Waynesville—applied for TAP funding for six sidewalk projects, and TAC members were asked to rank these projects for consideration in the applications selection process.

The top three projects, as ranked by the TAC, are a sidewalk project near Vienna schools, a sidewalk project near Potosi schools and a sidewalk project along Historic Route 66 in Waynesville. Hermann’s project in its downtown area ranked fourth, and Rolla’s projects for a walking trail through Veterans’ Park and ADA ramp upgrades throughout the city were ranked fifth and sixth.

These projects will be competing with other applicants throughout MoDOT’s Central District for $3.3 million in available funding. A total of $8.2 million has been requested throughout the district. A funding announcement is expected in early January.

Persons needing more information on MRPC’s Transportation Advisory Committee may contact MRPC at (573) 265-2993. The group will meet again at 4 p.m. Feb. 19 at MRPC, 4 Industrial Dr., St. James. Meetings are open to the public.