Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Sanders appointed to PHA leadership Miskel joins housing board

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Linda Hollandsworth at (573) 265-4200

ST JAMES—Crawford County Presiding Commissioner Leo Sanders was appointed secretary/treasurer of the Phelps County Public Housing Agency (PHA) during the board’s Jan. 8 meeting.

Sanders has served on the housing board since being elected as presiding commissioner in 2011.

Former Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Nick Baxter vacated the position.

The Phelps County PHA is an Equal Opportunity Housing Agency, governed by a seven-member board made up of the presiding commissioners of the six counties it serves and one program participant.

Newly elected Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel has filled the board seat vacated by Baxter.

The agency contracts with Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) to operate the program.

During the last fiscal year, more than 700 families in the Meramec Region received monthly rental assistance totaling more than $2.6 million.

The PHA chairman is Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darrell Skiles, and the vice chairman is Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze.

Housing assistance is provided to very low-income residents who meet federal income criteria and other eligibility requirements.

The PHA is currently accepting applications for rental assistance on the first and third Wednesday of the month at the PHA office at 4 Industrial Drive in St. James and on the second Tuesday of the month at the Washington County Library in Potosi. For more information, call the PHA at 573-265-4200.