Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Relief fund accepting donations to assist with Potosi/Washington County storm damage

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Maria Bancroft at (573) 265-2993

ST. JAMES—Damaging winds and heavy rain passed through the city of Potosi and Washington County April 1 and left an estimated 500 homes, businesses and flooded streets in need of help from the county’s disaster relief fund, established through Meramec Regional Community Foundation (MRCF).

“Our biggest needs are the senior center, county fairgrounds and senior citizens who have sustained damage to their homes,” said TR Dudley, mayor of Potosi. “The volunteer support has been amazing, especially to help repair the residences and our senior center.”

Anyone may contribute to the fund. In addition to damaged homes, Washington County Courthouse, sheriff’s office, the recently updated Sayers Senior Center and the Washington County Fairgrounds were hard hit by the storm.

Donations are tax deductible and can be made online or by check.

All donations made to the Washington County Disaster Relief fund will be dedicated to recovery efforts in Washington County. Proceeds will address individual and community needs caused by the storm through established, local non-profit groups, religious organizations, schools and county and local governments of Washington County.

To donate online, visit CFO’s website at cfozarks.org and click on the “Give Online” button. Please enter “Washington County Disaster Relief Fund” in the field to choose a fund or program.
Check donations should be payable to Washington County Disaster Relief Fund and mailed or delivered to Meramec Regional Community Foundation, in care of MRPC, 4 Industrial Dr., St. James, Mo. 65559.

The Washington County Commission established a county disaster relief fund with MRCF nearly three months ago, following the August 2013 flood in Pulaski and Phelps counties. MRCF helped Phelps and Pulaski counties establish funds to accept donations after the 2013 disasters and raised nearly $15,000 to assist recovery efforts.  As recovery efforts continued, MRCF encouraged all counties to establish funds to better prepare for local disasters. Now, all eight counties in the Meramec region have disaster relief funds ready to accept contributions.

MRCF is an outgrowth of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) and is an affiliate of CFO in Springfield. The regional affiliate was formed in 2010. Its 12-member board includes representation from each of the eight Meramec counties and from MRPC. Wayne Parry, a Rolla banker, serves as MRCF’s chairman. Leo Dickey of Washington County was a founding member of MRCF, and John Robinson III currently represents the county on the MRCF board.

Currently, MRCF has 40 funds totaling more than $630,627.

CFO is a public foundation serving the Missouri Ozarks. The Foundation’s mission is to enhance the quality of life in the region through resource development, community grant-making, collaboration and public leadership. Formed in 1973, CFO has since grown to include 44 affiliate community foundations and more than 2,600 charitable funds totaling approximately $230 million in assets.

MRPC, in addition to establishing the regional foundation, provides staff support to MRCF. Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 20, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

For the latest news and events from MRPC and MRCF, find them on Facebook at facebook.com/meramecregion or visit the MRPC website at meramecregion.org.