Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Phelps County Public Housing Agency’s annual plan open for comment

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Donald Keeney or Caitlin Jones

Public hearing set for March 8

ST. JAMES—The Phelps County Public Housing Agency (PHA) will host a public hearing to accept comments on the PHA’s annual plan at 10 a.m., March 8 at MRPC, 4 Industrial Drive, St. James. The Phelps County PHA provides HUD Section 8 rental assistance to persons in the counties of Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps (outside the city of Rolla) and Washington. 

The plan is a comprehensive guide to PHA policies, programs, operations and strategies for meeting local housing needs and goals. There are two parts to the PHA plan: the five-year plan, which each PHA submits to HUD once every fifth PHA fiscal year, and the annual plan, which is submitted to HUD every year by non-qualified agencies. 

The plan is available for review at Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC)/Phelps County PHA, beginning March 1 through March 8. Written comments will be accepted through March 8 and can be submitted to MRPC to the attention of Donald Keeney, PHA Program Manager. 

Those wishing to attend the public hearing via Zoom should register online at https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYsce-orDwoHdJKRs2l2iDOTXmOwG-fZdna

Persons needing more information should contact Keeney at 573-265-4200.

Anyone needing special accommodations for the public hearing should contact Keeney at least 48 hours in advance of the hearing. 

MRPC provides staffing to the Phelps County Public Housing Agency that provides rental assistance to about 750 low-income families in Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps (outside the city limits of Rolla) and Washington counties. Vic Stratman, presiding commissioner of Maries County, chairs the PHA board. The PHA also offers the Family Self-Sufficiency Program where clients develop a goal-oriented, five-year plan that moves them toward self-sufficiency and independence from government programs.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 34 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.