Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

ORSWMD recognizes environmental efforts Eco-Miners receives award for student/volunteer involvement

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Jill Hollowell or Tammy Snodgrass at (573) 265-2993

ST. JAMES—The Ozark Rivers Solid Waste Management District (ORSWMD) recently honored the Eco-Miners, a student volunteer group from the Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, at its annual meeting Nov. 29. Each year, Ozark Rivers recognizes individuals and organizations that help the district meet its goal of reducing solid waste by 40 percent through a commitment to recycling and waste reduction.

“As chairman of the ORSWMD, it’s my honor to help recognize the recipients of the awards for Outstanding Achievements in Solid Waste Management,” Chairman Brady Wilson said. “These awardees set an example for others to follow. Whether it be recycling, education or environmental improvement, their grassroots efforts lead to positive changes that benefit the entire region. The annual banquet is the district’s opportunity to thank these individuals and groups for their role in taking care of our natural world.”

Receiving the award for student/volunteer involvement was the Eco-Miners. They worked with ORSWMD on seven illegal dump cleanups during the last four years. The cleanup areas included a number of Phelps County illegal dumpsites, located in Kitchen Branch and Newburg Cemetery. They also participated in Mill Creek Clean 16, and members journeyed deep into the shrubbery and thorny vines along the road and found hundreds of pounds of garbage and scrap metal. Brady Wilson, chairman of the ORSWMD and director of Rolla’s Environmental Services Department, nominated the Eco-Miners.

Others honored at the meeting included Earth’s Classroom, a non-profit organization in Rosebud; Valerie McEuen, a teacher at Bourbon High School, Onondaga Cave State Park in Leasburg; and the Dixon High School Key Club.

The Ozark Rivers District includes Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities with populations of 500 or more. The district’s strategy for solid waste reduction, which has been individually adopted by all member governments and approved by Missouri Department of Natural Resources involves intense education and increased recycling efforts in member counties and cities. MRPC provides administration of the district and assists with a variety of implementation projects.

For more information about ORSWMD or waste reduction and recycling opportunities in the Ozark Rivers area, contact Tammy Snodgrass, MRPC environmental programs manager, at 573-265-2993 or by email at tsnodgrass@meramecregion.org.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 24, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion.


Joshua Breedlove and Jillian Hunt hold the award they accepted for the Eco-Miners student volunteer group at the Nov. 29 Annual Dinner in recognition of the group’s environmental efforts.



ORSWMD Chairman Brady Wilson (3rd from the right) presented awards to Earth’s Classroom Founders Bill Miles (left) and Jody Miles, Onondaga Cave State park represented by Lori Moore and Connie Stephens, Dixon High School Key Club represented by Trisha McCray, Valerie McEuen and the Eco-Miners represented by Jillian Hunt and Joshua Breedlove in recognition of their environmental efforts within the Ozark Rivers region.