Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC’s Transportation Advisory Committee prioritizes TAP applications

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Anne Freand or Caitlin Jones

ST. JAMES—The Meramec Regional Planning Commission’s (MRPC) Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) prioritized 10 Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) applications at its Sept. 14 meeting. 

The Meramec Region had 10 TAP applications submitted to add or replace sidewalks, ADA improvements and trail development. The TAC heard about each project from representatives for each application. The projects prioritized from highest to lowest are: 

  • State Technical College of Linn: Creating sidewalk connections along Hwy. 50 to the State Technical College campus,
  • Waynesville: Adding sidewalks along Route 66 from Cash James Loop to Broadway Street,
  • Dent County: Replacing sidewalks around the courthouse in Salem,
  • Hermann: Replacing sidewalks on Fourth Street and ADA improvements along Gutenberg Street,
  • Owensville: Adding sidewalk connection from the Rock Island Trail to the Scenic Regional Library,
  • Potosi: Replacing sidewalks along Citadel Drive, Mill Street and Jefferson Street, 
  • Gasconade County: Developing the Rock Island Trail between Owensville and Soap Creek Bridge, 
  • Rolla: Making ADA improvements for 77 downtown sidewalk ramps,
  • Waynesville: Adding sidewalk along Ichord Avenue and GW Lane, and  
  • Waynesville: Adding sidewalk along GW Lane.

Each applicant was able to share information on its project prior to voting on priorities. 

The TAC’s recommendations were approved by MRPC’s board and shared with MoDOT Central District. Planning partners within the Central District met with MoDOT staff in early October. There were 30 grant requests within the Central District, totaling $12.3 million in requests. The Central District has $7.6 million for TAP awards this cycle. Grant announcements are expected around Nov. 1. 

Additionally, the TAC elected new officers. Steve Vogt, representing the city of Belle, will serve as chairman. Vogt replaces Darin Pryor of Rolla as Chairman. Maries County Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman will serve as vice-chairman, while Waynesville Mayor Sean Wilson will serve as secretary. 

Persons needing more information on MRPC’s Transportation Advisory Committee may contact MRPC at (573) 265-2993. The group will meet again at 3:30 p.m. Dec. 14 at MRPC, 4 Industrial Dr., St. James. Meetings are open to the public. The group will identify top regional needs at its December meeting. The regional prioritization will be shared with MoDOT for consideration for inclusion in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Mary Heywood of Bourbon, representing the unemployed on the board, serves as the current chair. A professional staff of 31 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.