Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC shares legislative priorities during ‘MRPC Day at the Capitol’

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge at (573) 265-2993

JEFFERSON CITY—The board and staff of Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) traveled to the state Capitol on Jan. 24 for “MRPC Day at the Capitol.”

During the event, MRPC board and staff shared MRPC’s 2017 state legislative priorities with the 13 state legislators representing residents of the region.

Above, MRPC Executive Director Bonnie Prigge (left), District 119 Rep. Nate Tate, Chairman and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze, MRPC transportation representative John Casey, MRPC higher education representative Dr. Don Claycomb, and District 16 Sen. Dan Brown gather to discuss a variety of issues outside Sen. Brown’s office where MRPC invited state legislatures and staff to join them for a luncheon.

Above, District 119 Rep. Nate Tate (right) discusses RPCs with MRPC Executive Director Bonnie Prigge. Rep. Tate is a newly elected official from Franklin and Washington counties and was eager to learn about his constituents in Washington County, one of the eight counties in the Meramec Region.

Above, State Representative of the 142nd District Robert Ross (center) discusses regional issues with MRPC board members and staff.

Those participating in MRPC Day at the Capitol were Chairman and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze, Secretary and Crocker Mayor James Morgan, Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel, Hermann Chamber President Ron Kraettli, Gary Heldt of Hermann, Hermann City Administrator Mark Wallace, Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darrell Skiles, Higher Education representative Dr. Don Claycomb, Small Business representative Janey Radford, Transportation representative John Casey, Farming representative Robert Parsons and MRPC Staff Bonnie Prigge, Tammy Snodgrass, Kelly Sink-Blair and Caitlin Jones. The event was coordinated with assistance from Sen. Dan Brown and staff.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 25, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.