Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC Annual Dinner planned Oct. 13 in Vienna 

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Tammy Snodgrass or Caitlin Jones

ST. JAMES—Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) will be presenting seven volunteer awards at its Annual Dinner on Oct. 13 at the Knights of Columbus Hall, 206 Sixth Street in Vienna. Each year, MRPC honors residents of the Meramec Region who volunteer their time, talents and give support to their communities. 

Individuals, agency representatives and community organizations being recognized by MRPC for 2022 contributions to their communities are:

  • Hollis Sturdy of Belle, nominated by Maries County Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman; 
  • Gracie Rehmert of Belle, nominated by MRPC Chairman Steve Vogt;
  • Lawrence Buschmann of Vienna, nominated by Maries County Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman;
  • Jim Morrison of St. James, nominated by St. James Mayor Rick Krawiecki;
  • James T. Porter (posthumously) of Irondale, nominated by MRPC board member T.R. Dudley;
  • The Route 66 Summerfest Committee in Rolla, nominated by MRPC board members Louis Magdits and John Butz; and 
  • Bruce Grotewiel with the Maries-Osage Ambulance District, nominated by MRPC board member Ray Schwartze.

The public is invited to attend the event in Vienna. The deadline for reservations is Oct. 5. The celebration will begin with optional tours of the Old Jail Museum and County Courthouse at 4:30 p.m. A reception, sponsored by Maries County Bank, will follow at 5:30 p.m. at the Knights of Columbus Hall. Dinner, catered by Argyle Catering, will be served buffet style at 6:30 p.m. with a program and awards presentation following.

The Eugene E. Northern award, the highest honor given by MRPC for volunteers and community service, will also be announced at the Annual Dinner for 2022. The Eugene E. Northern award recipient is kept secret until announced at the Annual Dinner. 

Reservations are $35 per person and can be made by contacting Linda Carroll at 573-265-2993. Those interested in the 4:30 p.m. tours should indicate that when making reservations. 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Steve Vogt, representing the city of Belle, serves as MRPC chairman. A professional staff of 34, led by Executive Director Bonnie Prigge, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.