Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Meramec Regional Community Foundation’s 2024 grant round accepting applications until Jan. 31

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge or Caitlin Jones

ST. JAMES—Meramec Regional Community Foundation (MRCF) will be awarding two $750 community grants. One grant will be made to a project that focuses on community or economic development and the other will assist at-risk children and/or low-income families. 

Any nonprofit, 501(c)3 organizations, schools, faith-based organizations and governmental entities looking to address these needs are encouraged to apply. Organizations and governmental entities must be based in the Meramec Region – Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties – to qualify.

For the last 12 years, MRCF has awarded grants to further local projects through its community grant program. Programs in the past have included city beautification, illiteracy, supplies for homeless populations and more. 

2012 marked the inaugural year for the grant program, and in the last 11 years $17,400 in grant funds have been awarded to 64 community projects throughout the region. The grants are made possible through the Meramec Regional Community Foundation Community Grant-making Fund, which was created by a $30,000 donation from Meramec Regional Planning Commission. A portion of the fund’s earnings are distributed each year through grants.  

Awardees in 2023 included the Pulaski County Salvation Army, Hope Alliance of Missouri and the Belle Community Betterment Association. 

Applications for the 2024 grant round will be accepted online only until 5 p.m. on Jan. 31, 2024. Online applications may be found and submitted at https://www.grantinterface.com/Process/Apply?urlkey=cfozarksgrants

For more information on the grant opportunity, contact Bonnie Prigge at bprigge@meramecregion.org or 573-265-2993. 

MRCF is an outgrowth of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) and is an affiliate of Community Foundation of the Ozarks (CFO) in Springfield. The regional affiliate was formed in 2010 and has distributed over $1.6 million to support the region. Its 12-member board includes representation from each of the eight Meramec counties and from MRPC. Jared Niederer of Gasconade County serves as president of MRCF.

Currently, MRCF has 50 funds totaling over $4.4 million, as of June 30, 2023.

Persons needing more information on MRCF and its philanthropy efforts can contact Bonnie Prigge via the phone at 573-265-2993 or via email at bprigge@meramecregion.org. To learn more about MRCF, visit www.cfozarks.org/affiliates.   

CFO is a public foundation serving the Missouri Ozarks. The foundation’s mission is to enhance the quality of life in the region through resource development, community grant-making, collaborations and public leadership. Formed in 1973, CFO has since grown to include 53 affiliate community foundations and more than 3,500 charitable funds totaling approximately $375 million in assets. 

MRPC, in addition to establishing the regional foundation and providing the initial investment to create a regional grant program, provides staff support to MRCF. 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Mary Heywood is the chairman of the board. A professional staff of 33 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.