Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Meramec Community Enhancement Corporation elects new slate of officers

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Kelly Sink or Caitlin Jones

Edwards to serve first term as chair

ST. JAMES—Meramec Community Enhancement Corporation (MCEC) elected a new slate of officers at its July 29 meeting. For the 2022-2023 year, Dr. Greg Edwards of St. James will serve his first term as chairman, and Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman will serve his first term as treasurer. Danny Brown of Crawford County and Phelps County Associate Commissioner Gary Hicks of Rolla will serve their second terms as vice chairman and secretary, respectively.  

MCEC is the 501(c)3 not-for-profit corporation that serves as a related organization to Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) to assist in MRPC’s mission by providing services that increase the social, economic, educational, health-related and recreational opportunities to the residents of the region. 

“MCEC has helped the region in a variety of ways over the years, but our most recent focus has been on fighting the opioid epidemic and providing education about substance abuse in general,” Edwards said. “Far too many people in our area have been affected by opioids and drugs, and it is heartbreaking. I consider it an honor to help with this cause in any way I can, and I am proud of MCEC’s efforts.” 

Edwards is a lifelong resident of St. James along with his wife, Danetra and daughter, Olive. He serves on the board of directors for the James Memorial Public Library, serves on the Ozark Rivers Solid Waste Management District Advisory Council, has served as the past master and current treasurer of the St. James Masonic Lodge and is a former member of the St. James City Council among many other volunteer efforts. 

For more information on MCEC and their efforts, please contact Kelly Sink at MRPC via email at kellysb@meramecregion.org or 573-265-2993.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Steve Vogt, representing the city of Belle, serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 34 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.


Cutline: The Meramec Community Enhancement Corporation (MCEC) elected new officers to serve for the 2022-2023 year. Phelps County Associate Commissioner Gary Hicks (left) will serve his second term as secretary, while Dr. Greg Edwards of St. James and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Vic Stratman will serve their first term as Chairman and treasurer, respectively. Not photographed was Danny Brown of Crawford County who will serve his second term as Vice Chairman.