Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Crawford County receives $7,690 in grant funds for supplemental emergency food, shelter programs

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Nichole Zielke or Caitlin Jones

Applications will be accepted until March 17, 2023

CRAWFORD COUNTY—Crawford County has been awarded federal funds for emergency food and shelter, made available through the department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program and the American Rescue Plan Act. The county was awarded $7,690 in Phase 40 to supplement emergency food and shelter needs in the county. 

The application form can be found online at https://www.meramecregion.org/career-and-business-opportunities/grant-opportunities/. Deadline for applying for funds is March 17. 

The selection was made by a national board that is chaired by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency and consists of representatives from American Red Cross, Catholic Charities, USA, National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA, The Jewish Federations of North America, The Salvation Army and United Way Worldwide. The local board was charged to distribute funds appropriated by congress to help expand the capacity of food and shelter programs in high-need areas around the country.

A local board made up of the Crawford County officials, American Red Cross, and county representatives will determine how the funds awarded to Crawford County are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service agencies in the area. The local board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds made available under this phase of the program.

Agencies may receive funds to provide food, shelter and supportive services, including, but not limited to: 

• Food services, such as congregate meals, home delivery meals, or groceries;

• Lodging in a mass shelter, or in a hotel/motel or other off-site shelter facility limited to 90-days assistance per individual or household;

• Rent or mortgage assistance to prevent eviction or foreclosure, limited to 3 months/90-days assistance per individual or household;

• Utility assistance for one month of service for gas, electric and water service, limited to 3 months/90-days assistance per individual or household; and

• Supplies, including but not limited to cleaning supplies and Personal Protective Equipment (PPE). Also includes equipment essential to feed or shelter people, not exceeding $300 per item.

Under the terms of the grant from the national board, local agencies chosen to receive funds must: 1) be private voluntary nonprofits, faith-based or units of government, 2) be eligible to receive federal funds, 3) have an accounting system with a checking account for EFSP deposits, 4) practice nondiscrimination, 5) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs, 6) have a Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) number and a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), 7) be able to respond to email and submit reports to EFSP online, 8) pay vendors directly within 90 days for services provided, 9) be in good standing with the EFSP program and 10) if a private voluntary organization, have a voluntary board. Qualifying agencies are urged to apply.

Crawford County has distributed Emergency Food and Shelter funds previously to agencies responsible for providing meals and lodging.

Public or private voluntary agencies interested in applying for Emergency Food and Shelter Program funds can contact Nichole Zielke, MRPC, 4 Industrial Drive, St. James, MO 65559 at nzielke@meramecregion.org for an application.  The deadline for applications to be received is April 15, 2022.

Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) is serving as administrator for this project on behalf of Crawford County and the local board. 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Steve Vogt, representing the city of Belle, serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 36 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.