Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Chemical Suicide trainings being offered in Steelville, Rolla

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Tammy Snodgrass

ST. JAMES— Meramec Regional Emergency Planning Committee (MREPC) in conjunction with Missouri Emergency Response Commission (MERC) is offering two Chemical Suicide: Information for Emergency Responders trainings in the month of March. The first is March 14 at the Steelville Ambulance District Base, #1 EMS Lane, Steelville, and the second is March 28 at Missouri S&T Havener Center in the Carver Turner Room, 1346 Bishop, Rolla. Both trainings are being held from 8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

The course will provide background on the history of chemical suicide in the U.S; as well as, provide a detailed look at the chemicals most commonly used during chemical suicide, their effect on the victim and precautions the responder should take to protect themselves during the response. Several case studies of chemical suicides within the United States will be discussed, and finally, the class will discuss basic emergency response practices that a first responder should take into consideration when faced with a chemical suicide response.

Due to the subject matter of the course, participants are suggested to 18 years or older. Those interested in participating should register on the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) training webpage at training.dps.mo.gov. For more information contact Lisa Jobe at 573-526-9241 or via email at Lisa.jobe@sema.dps.mo.gov.

This course is POST approved with 3.5 hours of technical studies continuing education units (CEU). This course also provides 3.5 hours of BEMS elective CEUs.

MREPC works with local governments as well as the private sector to maintain plans responsive to chemical hazards, which seriously threaten the area. The committee periodically coordinates and offers training opportunities for emergency responders in the region. Quarterly meetings are open to the public. MRPC provides staff support for the local emergency planning committee. Kraig Bone of Washington County chairs the MREPC

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 23, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.