Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Brenner, Hackmann honored as outstanding volunteers at MRPC annual dinner in Hermann

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge or Caitlin Jones

ST. JAMES—Lucy Brenner of Morrison and Sean Hackmann of Chamois were honored during the Meramec Regional Planning Commission’s (MRPC) annual dinner Oct. 25 at the Hermann Hill Wedding and Convention Center, Hermann.  Eleven other individuals were honored at the dinner as well.

Brenner honored as outstanding volunteer
Lucy Brenner was honored at Meramec Regional Planning Commission’s Annual Dinner Oct. 25 at Hermann Hill Wedding and Conference Center for her efforts as an Osage County Parish Nurse. MRPC Vice Chairman Larry Miskel (left) and Chairman Marvin Wright presented the plaque to Brenner. Brenner was nominated by MRPC Board Member Jan Haviland (right).

Brenner, nominated by MRPC board member Jan Haviland, has served as an Osage County Parish Nurse for the last 13 years. She started in 2005 after a distinguished career at Lincoln University’s nursing program for 23 years in Jefferson City. After retirement, she chose to continue serving her community as Parish Nurse and has become knowledgeable in the many agencies that help county citizens with services that are needed to remain in their own home. Brenner and Central Missouri Community Action joined forces to coordinate the many needs that were being requested by area residents, such as arranging home health visits, Meals on Wheels, transportation for doctor’s visits, making referrals and finding apartments, contacting utility companies, finding independent living resources, finding people to help residents when home health care runs its course, plus learning about advanced directives.

Hackmann, nominated by Chamois Mayor Elise Brochu, is the assistant chief of the Chamois Volunteer Fire Protection District and an emergency medical responder. Hackmann is consistently first on the scene and continues to direct operations until the crisis has been averted. On February 11th, EMS was called out because someone had died, and Hackmann spent two hours organizing and leading while waiting for the coroner. Later that same night, a house fire caused the death of two children. Hackmann was there from 10:45 p.m. until noon the next day, when the fire was mostly extinguished. At 2:30 that afternoon he was called back out for a medical call and while treating that individual, the EMS team learned the house fire had flared again. Hackmann went back to the house to monitor the fire. Though exhausted and grief-stricken due to the death of the children, he never considered passing the medical call to county emergency services or asking anyone else to monitor the fire.

Other individuals recognized by MRPC for contributions to their communities were:

  • Chuck Hartbauer of Hermann, nominated by Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel and MRPC Board Member Mark Wallace;
  • Tim and Anna Long of Belle, nominated by Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze;
  • Kathy Speichinger of Belle, nominated by MRPC Board Member Steve Vogt;
  • Ruth Rebmann and Shelby Uffmann, nominated by Mayor of Owensville John Kamler;
  • Denise Seevers of Dixon, nominated by Mayor of Waynesville Luge Hardman; and
  • Gerald “Jerry” W. West (posthumously) of Potosi, nominated by MRPC Board Member Janey Radford.

Youth Volunteers:

  • Payden Woodruff, daughter of Michael Woodruff and Kisha Woodruff of Belle, nominated by MRPC Board Member Steve Vogt; and
  • Max Thierry, son of Craig and Merry Thierry of Belle, nominated by MRPC Board Member Steve Vogt.

The Eugene E. Northern award, the highest honor given by MRPC for volunteers and community service, was presented to Michael Dunbar of Waynesville. He was nominated by Waynesville Mayor Luge Hardman and St. Robert Mayor George Lauritson. Dunbar retired from the U.S. Army and has served the community by taking a leadership role with the Waynesville/St. Robert Chamber of Commerce, serving on numerous boards, and a strong commitment the Fort Leonard Wood area. As chair of the Missouri Military Preparedness and Enhancement Commission, his influence is felt from Jefferson City to Washington D.C. As a founding member and past president of the Sustainable Ozarks Partnership, Mike has worked tirelessly to enhance the position of Fort Leonard Wood as a premier training facility in the military.

The Maries County Bank was honored with Meramec Regional Development Corporation’s Lender of the Year award. Mark Hayes, senior vice president, accepted the award on its behalf.

Four staff members were recognized at the 2018 awards banquet for years of service: Elaine Cloyde, housing program coordinator for Crawford County with MRPC, received her award for 30 years of service; Tammy Snodgrass, assistant director and environmental programs manager, received her award for 25 years of service; Chuck Cantrell, housing inspector, received his award for 20 years of service; and Larry Blevins, maintenance technician, received his award for 15 years of service. Caitlin Jones, marketing and communications coordinator, was honored as MRPC’s employee of the year. Jones joined MRPC in December 2016.

The night included a reception that began at 5:30, featuring a Taste of Hermann event showcasing food and drinks from Hermann businesses. A silent auction, which raised over $1,287 to offset the costs of the dinner, was held during the reception. Some 171 individuals were in attendance at the dinner.

“Our Annual Dinner is the highlight of our year, as our board takes great pleasure in honoring some very deserving volunteers across our region, recapping some of the great projects that have occurred in our communities and taking a look at the contributions MRPC, as an organization, has made to our cities and counties,” said Bonnie Prigge, MRPC executive director.  “We really appreciate the hospitality, provided by the city of Hermann and Gasconade County, our hosts, and a special thank you to Terry Hammer and his staff for all their hard work to deliver a top-notch location for our evening. The support from the Hermann business community was amazing. It was certainly a great evening.”

13 outstanding volunteers honored at MRPC annual dinner
Front Row: Lindsey Jarvis (daughter of Jerry West), Brenda West (wife of Jerry West), Tim and Anna Long, Shelby Uffmann, Ruth Rebmann, Kathy Speichinger, Lucy Brenner, and Denise Seever. Back Row: Chris West (son of Jerry West), Mark Hayes with Maries County Bank, Chuck Hartbauer, Sean Hackmann, Craig and Merry Thierry accepting on behalf of son Max Thierry and Michael Dunbar. Not Pictured: Michael Woodruff and Kisha Woodruff, accepting on behalf of daughter Payden Woodruff.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Marvin Wright serves as Chairman of the board. A professional staff of 25 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.


Featured image at top cutline:

Sean Hackmann.JPG – Sean Hackmann was honored at Meramec Regional Planning Commission’s Annual Dinner Oct. 25 at Hermann Hill Wedding and Conference Center for his efforts as assistant chief of Chamois Volunteer Fire Protection District and an emergency medical responder. MRPC Vice Chairman Larry Miskel (left) and Chairman Marvin Wright presented the plaque to Hackmann. Hackmann was nominated by Chamois Mayor Elise Brochu  (right).