Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

Belle High School awarded Project Graduation grant

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge

Pictured (L-R): Dawn Hicks (Maries R-2 board member accepting on behalf of the Belle Project Graduation), Bonnie Prigge (MRPC Executive Director), Megan Pardoe (MoDOT Central District traffic technician) and Trent Brooks (MoDOT Central District Safety Engineer) 

CUBA—The Central District Coalition for Roadway Safety and Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) awarded the Belle High School with a Project Graduation grant to assist with expenses for the drug and alcohol-free after graduation celebration for Belle High School seniors. 

Schools in the Meramec Region were eligible to apply for the Project Graduation grant, which included $200 cash and $100 in gift cards and educational incentives, that remind students to buckle up and arrive alive. Seniors and parents, who are planning the all-night event, along with school administrators accepted the incentives on behalf of the 2018-19 senior class. The Belle High School was one of eight Project Graduation grant recipients. 

Bonnie Prigge, Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) executive director, Megan Pardoe, MoDOT Central District traffic technician and Trent Brooks, MoDOT Central District safety engineer, presented the incentives during a sub-district meeting of the sub-district coalition for roadway safety. MRPC is a member of the Central District Coalition for Roadway Safety and coordinates the Project Graduation/Docudrama mini-grant initiative for its eight counties through a grant from the Central District Coalition for Roadway Safety. 

Project Graduation activities at Belle, Cuba, Hermann, Owensville, Potosi, Salem and St. James also received grants.

Also during the meeting, Deana Dothage of First Impact Missouri, shared information on the First Impact graduated driver’s licenses program that offers information to parents on Missouri graduated driver’s license law for teen drivers. 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 25 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.orgor on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.