Meramec Region Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes August 9, 2018

Members Present: Leo Sanders (Crawford), Gary Brown (Dent), Ray Walden (Dent), Darrell Skiles (Dent), Robert Parsons (Dent Alt.), Robert Koerber (Gasconade), Ron Rowden (Maries), Larry Kliethermes (Osage), Deb Mehmert (Osage), David Dudenhoeffer (Osage), Jim White (Phelps), Larry Stratman (Phelps), Cyndra Lorey (Phelps Alt.), Mitch McDonald (Pulaski), George Lauritson (Pulaski), Glen Smith (Pulaski-Alt.), John Casey (Washington), and T. R. Dudley (Washington)

Members Absent: Rob Cummings (Crawford), Jared Boast (Crawford), Danny Brown (Crawford Alt.), Jerry Lairmore (Gasconade), John Kamler (Gasconade), Nathan Schauf (Gasconade Alt.), Larry Miskel (Gasconade Alt.), Ray Schwartz (Maries), Vicki Bade (Maries), Mark James (Maries), Darin Pryor (Phelps), John Butz (Phelps Alt.), Randy Verkamp (Phelps Alt.), Gary Hicks (Phelps Alt.), Bruce Harrill (Pulaski), Gene Newkirk (Pulaski), Larry Helms (Pulaski Alt.), Marvin Wright (Washington), Cody Brinley (Washington Alt.), and Mike Riddle (Washington Alt.)

Guests Present: Kim Tipton (MoDOT), Preston Kramer (MoDOT) and Steve Engelbrecht (MoDOT Area Engineer)

Staff Present: Anne Freand (MRPC), Bonnie Prigge (MRPC), and Caitlin Jones (MRPC)

Call to Order & Welcome: John Casey, Chairman called the meeting to order at 4:03pm.

Approval of June 14, 2018 TAC Minutes: David Dudenhoeffer made a motion, T.R. Dudley seconded. Minutes were approved as presented.

Missouri Rural Transportation Alliance (MRTA) and Fuel Tax Increase Discussion: Cyndra Lorey with MRTA provided an overview of the organization and presented information on the fuel tax proposal which will be on the November ballot. A handout relative to the tax benefit was provided to the members that outlines potential amounts for each county and city in the region.

TAP Application Review: Kim Tipton with MoDOT provided an update on the application process and reviewed any new updates or changes to the program. A handout was provided to the committee for review. It was noted that the TAP grants are mostly sidewalk projects and MRPC noted several of them relate to connections and safe routes to schools.

Arrive Alive Update: Bonnie Prigge reviewed updated accident numbers and noted that grant applications are due September 17th for the Coalition for Roadway Safety.

2018 Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) Update: Anne Freand presented the changes to the 2018 plan including new appendices and priorities chapters. Anne also reviewed the plan with the Committee and showed them the changes on the MRPC website.

MoDOT Updates and Staff Reports (As time allows): The Committee discussed low water crossings and MoDOT provided an update on LPA certification training. MoDOT also updated the group on the STIP adoption by the Highway Commission.

Member Reports (As time allows): Bonnie Prigge reminded committee members of the upcoming

county commission meetings relative to transportation priorities. Robert Koerber, Hermann Mayor, asked MoDOT about the chip seal project on Highway 100 and how so many vehicles were damaged. MoDOT provided an update on the project and noted they learned how to handle new contractors.

George Lauritson and Bonnie Prigge provided an update on the Defense Spending Bill and possible project funding for infrastructure projects. Bonnie Prigge also noted that MRPC will be working on a flood detour study for the City of Hermann.

Next TAC Meeting: October 11, 2018

Adjournment: Jim White motioned to adjourn, Robert Koerber seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 5:26 p.m.