## Meramec Region Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes April 11, 2019

**Members Present:** Leo Sanders (Crawford), Rob Cummings (Crawford), Jared Boast (Crawford), Gary Brown (Dent), Darrell Skiles (Dent), Robert Koerber (Gasconade), Vic Stratman (Maries), Ray Schwartze (Maries), Deb Mehmert (Osage), Larry Kliethermes (Osage), Larry Stratman (Phelps), Darin Pryor (Phelps), George Lauritson (Pulaski), and Mitch McDonald (Pulaski)

**Guests Present**: Preston Kramer (MoDOT), Kim Tipton (MoDOT), and Steve Engelbrecht (MoDOT Area Engineer), Mike Dusenberg, and Charles Sullivan (CFS Engineers)

MRPC Staff Present: Anne Freand, Bonnie Prigge, and Caitlin Jones

Call to Order & Welcome: George Lauritson, Vice-Chair called the meeting to order at 4:03 pm.

Approval of February 21, 2019 TAC Minutes: Mitch McDonald made a motion, Darrell Skiles seconded. Minutes were approved as presented.

**Selection of Nominating Committee:** The Committee discussed the current officers of Ray Walden-Chair, George Lauritson-Vice Chair, and Darin Pryor-Secretary as first-term officers and agreed to leave the officers as-is. Ray Schwartze motioned to approve officers as proposed, Darrell Skiles seconded. Officers were approved as presented.

**CART Changes:** Preston Kramer presented on the County Aid Road Trust. He noted the discrepancies to some of the counties' roadway miles and types. Preston noted that counties can reach out to him or Kim Tipton and that lists should be updated in the next couple of months.

**Partnership Project Guidance:** Preston Kramer presented a one-page handout to committee members which highlights guidance on what local governments need to do regarding engineering services on partnership projects. Highway Y and St. Robert Boulevard was given as an example of lessons learned.

**Discussion on Planning Framework:** Bonnie Prigge reviewed the history of how the Planning Framework began and how it was used to determine priorities for the Meramec Region. Anne Freand presented an example of a recent Planning Framework worksheet from SMCOG in Springfield, MO. Some committee members asked if information from the Planning Framework would require them to prioritize items based on the framework, and Bonnie Prigge noted that the framework numbers would only provide them with additional information to make decisions, but did not require them to abide by the framework. The following TAC members agreed to be on the Planning Framework Subcommittee:

Robert Koerber – Gasconade County Deb Mehmert – Osage County Darin Pryor – Phelps County George Lauritson/Mitch McDonald – Pulaski County Vic Stratman – Maries County Ray Walden – Dent County Jared Boast – Crawford County ? – Washington County **STIP Update**: Steve Engelbrecht presented on the 2020-2024 STIP and noted that the draft should be completed by June 6<sup>th</sup> for the 30-day review. Steve noted that the tables provided show sections highlighted in gray which are programmed for the STIP, but may be conditional and postponed due to funding changes. Any items which show a watermark are bridges listed in the Governor's Bridge Program. Specific items for the Meramec Region were discussed and the timeliness of existing work in the area. Steve also updated the committee on the overall ADA transition plan for the Meramec Region. The final STIP should be approved at the July 10<sup>th</sup> Highway Commission meeting.

**Regional Transportation Plan**: Anne Freand provided an update on the chapters and appendices which will be edited prior to the end of the fiscal year. Staff will complete updates to Chapters 1, 2, and 5, as well as Appendices A, C, E, H and I. Anne noted that surveys for transportation priorities in local communities will be sent out in the next month, and asked for all communities to complete and return them on time.

**State Legislative Update**: The committee discussed state legislative actions such as the House and Senate introducing a bill to update vehicle registration fees, and a proposed safety bill that immediately revokes licenses if you hit a worker (passed in House). Bonnie noted that there is currently zero appeal for a cell/texting ban at the state. A review of the House and Senate proposals were discussed as they related to the Governor's Bridge Plan. The current Senate proposal focuses on \$50 million up front with additional funds bonded contingent on Missouri receiving INFRA grants for the Rocheport Bridge along I-70. The committee also discussed the HB584 which increases service fees for licensing facilities.

**Road Safety Audit**: MRPC presented data from MoDOT which indicates that the intersection with the highest severity rating is located at Hwy P and Shockley Road in Gasconade County with one fatality and one disabling injury wreck in the previous three years. The other intersection discussed included the eastbound ramp from Missouri Avenue onto I-44 in Pulaski County. The intersection had a disabling injury and several minor injury wrecks; however, it was noted by MoDOT that the larger issue with that intersection is congestion. The committee discussed the impacts that a road safety audit would have on either intersection and agreed to move forward with the Gasconade County intersection. Gary Brown motioned, Jim White seconded and the motion was approved as submitted.

**Coalition for Roadway Safety:** Bonnie Prigge updated the committee on the docudramas being presented around the state. The regional meeting was also recently held in St. James at MRPC's offices. Bonnie reviewed the current crash statistics and Anne Freand noted the ability to view crash data in MoDOT's TMS system.

**MoDOT Updates and Staff Reports (As time allows):** Preston Kramer noted that MoDOT has been active in the region included work on the Highway B bridge and night work in I-44. MoDOT will also be working with a contractor to do predictive analytics on I-70 and I-44.

**Member Reports (As time allows):** Gary Brown with Dent County noted that he would speak to Ray Walden regarding the TAP application. Bonnie Prigge updated the committee on the annual MoDOT Transportation Planners meeting in Jefferson City which was also attended by Anne Freand, Kelly Sink-Blair and George Lauritson. Bonnie also noted that the Highway Commission would be meeting in Rolla on June 5<sup>th</sup>.

Next TAC Meeting: June 13, 2019 at 4:00 pm.

Adjournment: Robert Koerber motioned to adjourn, Ray Schwartze seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 5:38 p.m.