Meramec Region Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes April 14, 2016

Members Present: Paul Watson (Crawford), Kenny Killeen (Crawford), Ray Walden (Dent), Darrell Skiles (Dent), Bob Parsons (Dent-alt), Jerry Larimore (Gasconade), John Kamler (Gasconade) Nathan Schauf (Gasconade), Ron Rowden (Maries-alt), Ray Schwartze (Maries) Larry Kliethermes (Osage), Larry Stratman (Phelps), John Petersen (Phelps-alt), George Lauritson (Pulaski), James Morgan (Pulaski-alt), John Casey (Washington), T. R. Dudley (Washington), Marvin Wright (Washington).

Members Absent: Leo Sanders (Crawford), Gary Brown (Dent), Larry Miskel (Gasconade Alt.), Vicki Bade (Maries), Mark James (Maries), Deb Mehmert (Osage), Dave Dudenhoeffer (Osage), John Butz (Phelps), Jim White (Phelps), Cyndra Lorey (Phelps-alt), Gary Hicks (Phelps-alt), Randy Verkamp (Phelps-alt), Bruce Harrill (Pulaski), Gene Newkirk (Pulaski), Jeff Clark (Pulaski-alt), Darrell Duncan (Pulaski-alt), Cody Brinley (Washington-alt), and Mike Riddle (Washington-alt).

Guests Present: Preston Kramer, MODOT Area Engineer, Kelly Wilson, MODOT, Steve Engelbrecht, MODOT, Oscar Powers, Safety Director Fort Leonard Wood

Staff Present: Lyle Thomas, Roxanne Murphy, Bonnie Prigge, and Donna Ridenhour

Call to Order & Welcome: Vice Chairman, Darrell Skiles called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m.

Approval of February 25, 2016 TAC Minutes: Minutes were amended to include Kenny Killeen as present. Darrell Skiles asked for a motion to approve the minutes as amended of February 25, 2016. Motion was made by Larry Stratman, and seconded by George Lauritson. Motion carried.

Selection of Nominating Committee: Per the bylaws, a chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary need to be elected annually. Current officers are, as follows:

• Leo Sanders (Crawford)	2 nd Term-Chairman
• Darrell Skiles (Dent)	2 nd Term-Vice Chairman
• Marvin Wright (Washington)	2 nd Term-Secretary

Per the bylaws term limits for an officer is limited to two years.

Darrell Skiles asked for volunteers to serve on the nominating committee. John Petersen, Bob Parsons and James Morgan agreed to serve on the TAC nominating committee. The group planned to meet after the TAC meeting.

Darrell Skiles asked for volunteers to serve on the nominating committee. John Peterson, James Morgan, and Robert Parsons agreed to serve on the committee. The group planned to meet after the TAC meeting.

Review of the 2016-2017 Transportation Planning Work Plan: Lyle Thomas, MRDC Senior Community Development Specialist, provided an overview of the fiscal year 2016-2017 Transportation Planning Work Plan to be submitted to MODOT. TAC recommended approval. T. R. Dudley made a motion to approve the work plan, as reviewed by TAC; seconded by Ray Schwartze. Motion carried.

TAC committee is to recommend the Transportation Planning Work Plan to the MRPC board.

Discussion on Planning Framework: Bonnie Prigge provided the committee with information on a pilot project MRPC did with MODOT in the 1990s. The purpose of this project was to find objective ways to evaluate transportation needs and projects. From this project came the Planning Framework and the Regional Transportation Plan. Bonnie discussed this information with the committee. Bonnie would like to

implement something like this in the near future. She asked the committee to review the information and see if this information would apply to our planning framework today.

2016 Work Zone Awareness: Lyle Thomas discussed work zone awareness. There was a MODOT employee hit by a vehicle and killed on a work zone last week. Lyle asked the committee that when he sends out flyers on safety zones to please post them on your community bulletin boards. The TAC was asked to help get the word out to people to be careful while driving in a work zone.

2016 Construction Projects: Preston Kramer, MODOT Area Engineer, reviewed construction and maintenance for the summer projects. A lot of chip seal maintenance being done and no system expansion projects.

MODOT Updates and Staff Reports: Kelly Wilson, MODOT, said MODOT plans to phase out the STP-Small Urban Program as it's no longer part of the federal transportation bill. Current funds must be spent by September 30, 2019. Impacted communities are Rolla, Salem, St. Robert and Waynesville.

Next TAC Meeting: June 9, 2016.

Adjournment: Kenny Killeen made a motion, seconded by John Kamler, that the meeting be adjourned. Motion carried.