## MERAMEC REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION COMPREHENSIVE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

**Members Present:** Cyndra Lorey (RREC), Cheri Tune (DED-Workforce Development), Mark Boyer, Ray Walden (City of Salem), Lowell Tonding (City of St. James) and John Petersen (City of Rolla), Byron Baker (Legends Bank), Butch Tucker (Hutcheson Ford), Shannon Grus (City of Rosebud), Wayne Morgan (PCGA)

Members Absent: Mike Distler (City of Meta), Dave Dudenhoeffer (Osage County), Travis Schwarz, Randy Verkamp (Phelps County), Luge Hardman (City of Waynesville), John Casey (Casey Real Estate), Robert Vinyard (City of Caledonia), Robin Huskey (City of Mineral Point), T.R. Dudley (City of Potosi), Bryon Craig, Jacob Wieties, James Kleffner, Jim Barnett, Ken Bassett, Robert Schaffer, Tony Floyd (InterCounty Electric), Clayton Lucas (City of Salem), John Tracy (City of Owensville), Bruce Sassmann, Richard Huse (City of Belle), Dianna Moore (Central Missouri Community Action), Jan Haviland (Haviland Corporation), Russell Scheulen, Alan Galindo (Work Investment), Bill Marshall (Phelps County Bank), Nancy Montgomery, Keith Strassner (MS&T), Ted Day (Mo-Sci), Janet Walker (MS&T), Carol Carson, John Greenlee (Gascosage Electric), Rosalind Pride (OTC-Waynesville Education Center), Candace Connell (Archer-Elgin Engineering), Terry Palmer (City of Steelville), Bob Baldwin (City of Cuba), Kathy Byrd (Village of Leasburg), Thomas Leasor (City Hall), Carl Stephens (City of Gasconade), Chris Dickneite (City of Westphalia) and James Wright (City of Chamois), James Morgan (City of Crocker), Donald Claycomb (State Technical College of Missouri), Marla Stevenson (Town and Country Bank), Dennis Wilson (City of St. James)

Staff Present: Connie Willman and Maria Bancroft

Welcome and Introductions: John Petersen, chairman

**Approval of Nov. 26, 2013 Minutes:** Chairman Petersen presented the minutes from the November 26, 2013 meeting to the committee. Lorey made a motion to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Boyer. Motion passed.

**Economic Development Action Plan Development:** Willman reminded committee members that the purpose of the meeting is to continue formulating an action plan to address prioritized economic development weaknesses/threats identified in the past few meetings.

Participants were divided into two groups to complete a situation statement, objective and action items for the top six priority issues identified, including: increased regulations, presence of apathy, potential for Base Realignment and Closure, international competition, lack of some critical infrastructure and high poverty levels.

Next Meeting: March 25, 2014 at 11:30 a.m.	
Adjournment: Being no further business, the con	nmittee adjourned the meeting at 1:03 p.m.
Approved by the board	, 2014
John Petersen, Chairman	
Attested by Dennis Wilson Vice Chairman	