Eight counties | 36 cities | one region

a voluntary council of local governments
serving the missouri meramec area.

MRPC shares state legislative priorities during ‘MRPC Day at the Capitol’

For immediate release

For more information, contact
Caitlin Jones

JEFFERSON CITY—The board and staff of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) traveled to the state capitol on Jan. 21 for “MRPC Day at the Capitol.” 

During the event, MRPC board and staff shared MRPC’s 2020 state legislative priorities, as set by the board, with the 13 state legislators representing residents in MRPC’s eight-county region.

MRPC board member and Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darryl Skiles speaks with Sen. Justin Brown about the region’s priorities for state legislation. 

MRPC board members and staff speak with Rep. Steve Lynch (second from left) and Sen. Justin Brown (fifth from left) about the region’s priorities for state legislation, while enjoying some lunch. 

Bonnie Prigge went into detail on the priorities with Rep. Aaron Griesheimer.

After lunch, MRPC board members and staff visited the offices of the legislators. Here, MRPC Executive Director Bonnie Prigge left and MRPC Board Member Ray Schwartze (right), visit with Rep. Chris Dinkins prior to a committee meeting. 

Those who participated in the MRPC Day at the Capitol were (left to right standing) Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darryl Skiles, Gary Heldt of Hermann, Hermann City Administrator Mark Wallace, Gasconade County Board Member Ron Kraettli, Maries County Board Member Ray Schwartze, MRPC Assistant Director Tammy Snodgrass, MRPC Housing Program Manager Donald Keeney, (left to right sitting) MRPC Executive Director Bonnie Prigge, MRPC Chairman and Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel, MRPC Vice Chair and City of Belle representative Steve Vogt, (not pictured) Labor Representative Shane Anselm and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Victor Stratman. 

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. Gasconade County Presiding Commissioner Larry Miskel serves as chairman of the board. A professional staff of 27 offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.org or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/meramecregion/.