MRPC News Release

For immediate release
September 22, 2017

For more information, contact
Tammy Snodgrass at (573) 265-2993

MRPC Annual Dinner planned Oct. 26 in Salem
10 volunteer awards to be presented to individuals from eight-county region

ST. JAMES­—Each year Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) honors residents of the Meramec Region who give to their communities by volunteering their time, talents and support. This year, 10 awards will be presented at MRPC’s 2017 Annual Dinner Oct. 26 at the Salem Community Center @ the Armory at 1200 W. Rolla Road, Salem, MO. 

The public is invited to attend the event in Salem. Tickets for the event will cost $30. For reservations, contact MRPC at 573-265-2993. The deadline for reservations is Oct. 16. A reception, featuring Red Moose Vineyards and music by Alter-K-Shon, will be held prior to the dinner beginning at 5:30 p.m. The Bank of Salem, Progressive Ozarks Bank and Riverways Federal Credit Union are sponsoring the reception. Dinner, catered by Country Seasons Catering, will begin at 6:30 p.m. with a program and awards presentation following.

Individuals being recognized by MRPC for contributions to their communities are:

  • Henry and Mary Wansing of Vienna, nominated by MRPC chairman and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze;
  • Bill Reynolds of Loose Creek, nominated by MRPC Board Member Dr. Don Claycomb;
  • Sean Wilson of Waynesville, nominated by Waynesville Mayor Luge Hardman;
  • Neil Richards (posthumously) of Potosi, nominated by Caledonia Chairman John M. Robinson.

Youth Volunteers:

  • Tyler Roberds of Meta, nominated by MRPC chairman and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze;
  • Baylee Rebecka Bilyeu of Salem, nominated by Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darrell Skiles;
  • Maxwell Butler of Belle, nominated by Belle Mayor Steve Vogt.

Community organization:

  • Ya Ya of Belle, nominated by Belle Mayor Steve Vogt.

Local Agency Representative:

  • City Administrator Harold Selby of St. James, nominated by Mayor of St. James Jim White.

The Eugene E. Northern award, the highest honor given by MRPC for volunteers and community service, will also be announced at the annual dinner. The award recipient is kept secret until announced at the Annual Dinner.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 23, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.orgor on Facebook at

Return to MRPC Welcome Page

Return to MRPC Press Release Archive