MRPC News Release

For immediate release
September 14, 2017

For more information, contact
Anne Freand at (573) 265-2993

TAC officers – Secretary Larry Stratman (Left), Chair John Casey and Vice Chair Dave Dudenhoeffer

TAC updated on Rolla Transportation Development District

ST. JAMES­—The city of Rolla will be investing nearly $35 million in transportation improvements over the next couple of decades. Rolla City Administrator John Butz updated the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) on the MoveRolla Transportation Plan, which lead to the formation of Transportation Development District, during its meeting Aug. 10 at Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC). 

MoveRolla Transportation plan is a 20-year transportation plan to develop a transportation system that meets the needs of all people and modes of transportation while promoting a safe, healthy community and economic opportunities for the next 20 years. Goals include developing a safe and convenient transportation environment, promoting alternative mobility choices and developing a transportation system that promotes economic opportunities and creates a sense of place.  The implementation of the plan is funded by a one-cent sales tax collected by businesses in the Transportation Development District, which was approved by property owners and formed in 2016-17.

MoveRolla Transportation Development District (TDD) improvements are planned in three phases with completion planned for 2021. Improvements include:

  • Phase 1: Developing the Westside Marketplace and extending Highway 72;
  • Phase 2: Realigning University Drive, improving safety on Bishop Avenue, and improving Kingshighway; and
  • Phase 3: Creating a pedestrian overpass over I-44 and improving 10th Street.

In total, the MoveRolla TDD is estimated to cost $33 million. For more information on the MoveRolla TDD, visit

In other business, the TAC committee:

  • Elected officers with John Casey continuing a second term as chair, with Dave Dudenhoeffer continuing a second term as vice chair, and Larry Stratman of Phelps County being elected as secretary;
  • Heard an update on MoDOT’s Cost Share Program and the Buckle Up/Phone Down programs from MoDOT Central District Engineer Preston Kramer;
  • Heard reports on the Public Transit Human Services Transportation Coordination Plan;
  • Reviewed the results of the Road Safety Audit conducted at the intersection of Hwy 68 and CR 1050 in Phelps County; and
  • Heard updates on MoDOT’s construction projects in the Meramec region.

The next TAC meeting will be at 4:00 p.m. Oct. 12 at MRPC #4 Industrial Drive, St. James.

Persons needing more information on MRPC’s Transportation Advisory Committee may contact MRPC at (573) 265-2993. The group will meet again at 4 p.m. April 13 at MRPC, 4 Industrial Dr., St. James. Meetings are open to the public.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 23, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at www.meramecregion.orgor on Facebook at


Return to MRPC Welcome Page

Return to MRPC Press Release Archive