MRPC News Release

For immediate release
Jan. 31, 2017

For more information, contact
Maria Bancroft or Bonnie Prigge at (573) 265-2993

Wayne Parry holds a gift basket he received at the annual Affiliate Conference in April 2015. Parry was honored with a Board Member of Excellence award at the event.

Parry steps down from MRCF board after six years of service

ST. JAMES—After six years of service on the Meramec Regional Community Foundation, Wayne Parry has stepped down as the Phelps County representative. Parry was a founding member and also served as board chairman.

“I thoroughly enjoyed my service on the board during my tenure there,” Parry said. “The board members were a great group of folks to work with. The foundation continues to make strides in helping our local communities and, to me, that is really what its all about – local people helping local people.”

MRCF is an outgrowth of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) and is an affiliate of the Community Foundation of the Ozarks (CFO) in Springfield. The regional affiliate was formed in 2010. Its 12-member board includes representation from each of the eight Meramec counties and from MRPC.

 “Wayne worked closely with the board and with CFO during his last term by marketing to a variety of organizations, such as local chambers and churches, promoting the Transfer of Wealth initiative,” Maria Bancroft, business loan specialist, said. “In addition, Wayne has worked closely and continues to actively work with the new Rolla animal shelter project, as well as serve on the steering committee.”

Parry served the maximum term allowed on the board, which is two three-year terms. During his terms on the board, Parry helped with recruitment of at least five funds currently housed with MRCF and served on the nominating committees and two scholarship committees.

With his extra time, Parry plans to continue volunteering his time to community organizations, such as the Rolla Lions Club and Rolla Rotary Club. He will continue to spend time with his family and work with U.S. Bank in Rolla.
The MRCF board selected Mark Riefer to be the Phelps County representative on MRCF.

 CFO is a public foundation serving the Missouri Ozarks. The foundation’s mission is to enhance the quality of life in the region through resource development, community grant-making, collaboration and public leadership. Formed in 1973, CFO has since grown to include 49 affiliate community foundations and more than 2,600 charitable funds totaling approximately $253 million in assets.

MRCF has 12 board members: one from each of the eight counties in the Meramec Region, one at-large member, two members appointed by MRPC and the MRPC executive director. Vicki Nelson of Maries county serves as the MRCF chairperson.

MRCF was formed June 4, 2010. Currently, there are 49 funds totaling $752,754 under the MRCF umbrella and also has a community grant program.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 25, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at or on Facebook at

Return to MRPC Welcome Page

Return to MRPC Press Release Archive